Learning Programme

Mount St. Joseph Girls' College commits to our core work to holistically educate each girl in a safe, welcoming and individualised learning environment, where expectations are high an success is celebrated and affirmed.

In 2017 the Victorian Curriculum has been introduced across all learning areas in Years 7 to 10. The Victorian Curriculum has been developed to provide a foundation for successful, lifelong learning and participation in the Australian community. It acknowledges that the needs and interests of students will vary, and that schools and teachers will plan from the curriculum in ways that respond to those needs and interests.

The Victorian Curriculum includes eight learning areas and four capabilities. The eight learning areas of include English, Maths, Science, Humanities, Health & PE, LOTE, Arts (Visual and Performing), and Technologies include distinct disciplines.

The capabilities represent sets of knowledge and skills that are developed and applied across the curriculum. These capabilities have been embedded where relevant and appropriate in each learning area. They are: 

  • Critical and Creative Thinking
  • Ethical
  • Intercultural
  • Personal and Social 

These capabilities encompass the knowledge, skills, behaviours and dispositions that, together with curriculum content in each learning area, will assist students to live and work successfully in the twenty-first century.

The Victorian Curriculum must be both relevant to the lives of students and address the contemporary issues they face. With this in mind, the curriculum gives special attention to three priorities: 

  • Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander histories and cultures
  • Asia and Australia’s engagement with Asia
  • Sustainability


© Copyright 2016 Mount St. Joseph's Girls College  |  Privacy Policy  |  Sitemap  |  Login